The Foundation Struggle

There is a problem that has plagued me since I got into personal style and makeup. It’s something that exercise, diet, or exfoliation has been able to fix. I am ALWAYS in between either two sizes of clothing, or two shades of foundation. Today (or when ever you read this post) I will complain about finding a foundation, because I spent almost two hours at the MAC counter trying to match myself to a foundation.

dsc02363

The hero of the day was the lovely makeup artist that didn’t give up until we found something that worked for me. Her passion was palpable, and she really knew what she was doing.  When it comes to my skin, I am mostly yellow based, or warm toned, but I also have enough of a red base (cool tone) to make finding a good match a mission. The Estee Lauder double wear foundation had the closest match for me. Just the foundation itself worked for a few years, but it was never a spot on match. The hefty $40 price tag that came along with it was the main reason to leave my comfort zone and start my journey with foundation over again.

dsc02364

 

dsc02366

 

What I now know, is that I will always have to pair a yellow based foundation to a neutral powder.  I went with the studio fix liquid foundation in NC44 and the powder from the same line in C6. The part that I didn’t like was paying more than I originally wanted to, but for a little more I was able to get two products. I know that I won’t run out of both at the same time, so there is some wiggle room. If you have this issue like I do, go ahead and get yourself to a makeup counter. You may not be happy with the price tag, but it’ll be worth it.

4 thoughts on “The Foundation Struggle

Leave a Reply

