Annotating Made Simple

Let’s talk about annotating (on purpose)

Annotating is a fancy word for taking notes when you read something. It can be done with books, articles, editorials, plays, etc.. I was first introduced to annotating in an AP literature class in high school. Being 17 and in a 4 year reading slump, I didn’t like it. Now, I love doing it. Annotating  keeps my thoughts from disappearing and I can explain my opinions. 


If you want to try it, here’s how this works:

  • Grab a pen, your reading material, a pad of sticky notes
  • when ever you feel something, read something interesting, and/or want to remember something,  write it down and stick it on the page 


If you’re annotating for school, look for what is being asked ( Information, grammar, terminology, facts to beef up essays etc.) You could also write in the margins of the book. I get a lot of my books from the library, and  like the space that a sticky note offers, so I prefer to not write in the book. 
You can now go back and see your reading journey through sticky notes. Let me know if you’ve tried annotating or have tips of your own! 

Leave a Reply

