Primers for Oily and Dehydrated Skin

For those of us with combination skin types, it is near impossible to find products that will meet our needs. Cosmetic and skin care brands do their absolute best to provide the best of both worlds, but sometimes, it is difficult to make our skin happy.  I want to make a series out of these little posts. It will be my mission to find products that will help hydrate my skin, and keep the shine at bay. Today, I start with primers.

dsc02174
Mario Badescu Facial Spray

 

dsc02176
Too Faced Hangover Rx Replenishing Face Primer

 

dsc02177
Benefit the Porefessional Matte Reascue

I tend to  do my makeup later in the day before work  (I work evenings). To refresh the face and start preparing for makeup, I spray on a little of the Mario Badescu rose water spray. It feels heavenly, wakes me up a little,  and my skin comes to life. It is also super affordable, which is always a plus!! Then I use not one, but two primers. Excessive I know, but it works, so why not? The Too Faced Hangover Rx primer is incredibly hydrating, feels like a moisturizer, and smells like coconut ( it has coconut in it- go figure). I put on that one first to have a good hydrating base. Next comes the Benefit Porefessional Matte Rescue primer. This gel-creme (very important) primer helps mattify and blur before foundation, and keep it matte. Because it is a gel formula, the primer feels light, unlike like other matte primers. I love this the most because I use a heavy foundation, and not having to add heavy primers underneath makes everything so much more comfortable.

Now, these two are not the most affordable. The Too Faced primer runs at $32 without tax, and the Benefit primer costs $28 without tax.  Buy the minis, especially if you’ve never tried them . In Ulta, I found miniatures of the Hangover Rx for $15 and the Matte Rescue for $10. They do come with less product, but it’s better than nothing. Let me know if you tried these and what you thought of them!

 

Leave a Reply

