Thoughts on Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard (Spoiler Free)

This is the first time I have ever had to experience the waiting for the next book in a series. Usually, I’m a little late to the game and I can snag book after book without the agony of waiting for months for the newest installment. Not this time. I read Red Queen one humid day in January, and was okay with waiting a month for Glass Sword. HAHAHA joke’s on me.  I was a genius and decided to wait for the library to get a copy. It didn’t get here until September, and now here I am, mid way through October, typing this post.


Glass Sword was just as action packed and suspenseful as Red Queen. From page one, I was raving and rioting about the events that go on. I grew to love characters, question characters, and even mourn a few characters as well (I may or may not have cried). Being able to see Shade and the connection he and Mare have is so heartwarming; I understand now why Aveyard wrote such a buildup to that relationship in the first book. Better yet, seeing the entire Barrow family together was beautiful.  What Mare is trying to achieve was inspiring and cringe-worthy at the same time. The way she goes about achieving these goals was a little questionable, especially towards the end. Honestly, it’s what anyone would expect from a teenager that all of a sudden needs to be a “hero”. I now root for Cal more than ever because he’s a teddy bear, and I love him. I will say the pacing of the story was weird. It happened in the first book as well. It had a very fast pace and tons of intense action followed by chapter after chapter of agonizingly slow story-building. Will this stop me from reading King’s Cage? Nope! I love this series and am patiently waiting for the next book!

Leave a Reply

