The Opposite of Loneliness by Marina Keegan

img_2800-1

This book was worth the year and a half wait. I wanted to wait until my local library got a copy, and it took a LONG while. I knew that half the book was short adult fiction, so I didn’t want to buy in case I didn’t like it. It sounds mean but now, other people can enjoy this incredible collection of stories and essays for free.  The fiction was beautiful. Adult fiction isn’t my favorite genre, so I can’t wholeheartedly say that I enjoyed every minute of it. I did enjoy how easy it was to get into them. The stories pulled me in and kept me guessing until the end. They had wonderful twists in the plot that weren’t completely unexpected, but still enough to keep me going to the end. The short stories also had this mysterious element to them. Marina purposefully left a sort of  “elephant in the room” in these short stories. They weren’t hard to figure out but, they were never truly confirmed either. Her essays are works of art. Instead of being painted, they were typed. These essays put into words my feelings and outlook on life right now. Well, most of them do. I don’t have a gluten allergy, so I can’t relate 100% to that essay. Reading this book in my very early 20’s was one of the best decisions I’ve made. While this book isn’t life changing, knowing that there was someone else with these ideals, a person who was twice as smart and possibly had a brighter future than I do, makes me not feel like complete misfit.  Highly recommend!

Leave a Reply

