Top 5 books of 2016 (Mid-Year Edition)

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/18192045/?claim=ncnf56h7d4e”>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

How is it the end of July already?! There are only a few months left to tackle my Goodreads reading challenge (faints, but gets right back up to type this out). I only have 16 out of 30 books left to read (yes yes I feel the pressure too), and it’s always cool to look back and see which books stood out in my mind after finishing them. I listed my 5 favorites from the first half of the year in case anyone reading this needs inspiration on what to read next. Currently, I’m making my way through Victoria Schwab’s This Savage Song and let me tell you IT. IS. SO. GOOD. AND. SO. ORIGINAL. GO. OUT. AND. READ. THIS. BOOK.

I have links to all the books mentioned below as well as a little (who are we kidding here, biggish) gush about them.

Also, have you joined the Goodreads reading challenge? How many books did you pledge and how are you getting on?

*Disclaimer: the pictures for Red Queen and Room are taken off of google. I checked them out from the library and returned them way before I had the intention of writing this post.*
Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo


Wrote an entire post about this, but basically this and  Red Queen By Victoria Aveyard is what got me back into reading young adult again. This book is about 6 criminal outcasts trying t pull of what seems to be an impossible heist. Finished this book in about 2 days. I can barely wait until the sequel comes out!!

Brooklyn by Colm Toibin


The movie was great, and the book was even better! I loved how normal this book was.Save the dramatics for another read. Again this book and movie got it’s own post, but it’s about a girl named Eilish. She moves from Ireland to Brooklyn New York and we follow her journey and how she adapts to american life.  Book & Movie: Brooklyn

Room by Emma Donoghue


Every once and a while, I think it’s good to read a haunting book to put life into perspective. This is what Room did to me. Such a great book, such an incredible movie.

The Book of Speculation  by Erika Swyler


Dove into the world on regular fiction and it was great! I enjoyed how this book is two stories in one, and how they fit together so well. I loved how the story is about finding yourself as well as knowing who your family is. Be it your actual blood related family, or friends that have become a part of it.

Red Queen  by Victoria Aveyard


If you have read the selection series by Keira Cass, it’s like that but sooo much better. If you haven’t, the best way I can describe it without ruining the story is by taking the little blurb off of amazon

“Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver-blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. There, before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess, and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays the only certainty is betrayal”

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 books of 2016 (Mid-Year Edition)

Leave a Reply

