Six of Crows

It’s been a while since I’ve read a good young adult book. To be honest, I’ve been avoiding them. In the past few years, all I’ve seen when searching for young adult is sappy sappy romance and or a dystopian novel and I was over it. So I gave it a few months and then at work we got this all black, aesthetically gratifying book. It was Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo, and it looked too cool to not check out. At first, I shamefully thought it was part of the Raven Boys cycle (silly silly me). As I read, I remembered how much I loved books like these. There was suspense, adventure, and just enough tension between certain couples that the hopeless romantic in me started shipping characters together from chapter 2 (where most of the characters were introduced) . I loved it enough to stay up until 4 am to finish it and by the end, I sat in silence processing what just happened. If that’s not a sign of a good book I don’t want to know what is!!! In each chapter, we follow the viewpoints of  different characters. It’s usually one of the main 6 characters. All chapters are also told in third person so it’s not as confusing as it sounds.

It’s good to see a book where all the characters have so much strength. Nina, Inej, Kaz, Matthais, Jesper, and waylan are all so strong despite their heart breaking backgrounds. It’s kind of inspirational to see them “defeat” the odds. Also, there are main characters of color which makes this little brown chika very happy. 


If you are like me and haven’t read Leigh’s other series the Grisha trilogy, which is the world that SoC is set in, it won’t ruin the plot of the other books, but it is a lot to keep up with along with the main story lines. I have heard that there is a major spoiler from the Grisha trilogy, but I’m not reading it for a while.  Also, this isn’t a part of the review, but the song Heathens by Twenty One Pilots, matches this book SO WELL.

Have you read Six of Crows? Are you excited for the sequel  Crooked Kingdom? Let’s talk about it!

One thought on “Six of Crows

Leave a Reply

