19 Things I Learned at 19

  1. There is nothing wrong with asking for help
  2. Even though life feels like a race, it isn’t
  3. Stop comparing yourself to others so much (still working on this one)
  4. Leaving the house is half the battle
  5. If you never ask, the answer will always be no
  6. Do your school work so you don’t feel bad about it later
  7. It’s okay if you still don’t know what to do with your life, you’re 19
  8. Spontaneity looks good on you
  9. Words and how they are delivered are everything
  10. Your attitude towards situations sets up your experience
  11. People aren’t watching you as much as you think
  12. Love is love is love is love is love
  13. Hamilton is great, 10/10 would recommend
  14. Having friends outside of school is hard, but so so so worth it
  15. VOTE
  16. Your mental illness is real and valid
  17. If you have nothing nice to say, don’t say anything at all
  18. Fear isn’t going to prevent what you don’t want to happen from happening (work in progress)
  19. You don’t have to tell everyone every detail of everything everyday


July 14th, 2016 I turn 20. twenty. XX. years old. Two whole decades, 20 revolutions around the sun. To me this is monumental because in that time, I have graduated high school, made it halfway through college (sort of), learned to drive, figured out how to make friends, learn how to be a decent human being (I hope) etc… It’s been great!  I want this age to be the age where I start making memories to tell my kids about. Cliche as it sounds, I want to fall in love, or at least catch someone’s eye. I want to get lost on purpose, not freak out and traveling would be nice too. An enormous list I know, but I’ve got 365 days to do as much as possible. If I don’t get to it, well, there’s always 21,22,23,24 etc.. you get the point

So here’s to the last post I write being 19,turning 20, and everything that will come along with it. I’m ready for you this time.

 

Leave a Reply

